Robert Lee Frost – The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that, the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I —
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

 

4 Responses to Robert Lee Frost – The Road Not Taken

  1. Sudeep Ghosh says:

    Q: How does the poem reveal the poet?

    Yes, it does throw light on Robert Frost and his penchant for doubles. I would say, his infatuation with doubles could be traced to his childhood experiences. His mother would read him Bible stories stressing on the stark opposites – the good and the evil; failures and success; happiness and sadness; despair and hope. Moreover, the contrasting traits between the poet’ parents also left an abiding impact on the poet’s mind. The Road Not Taken is also an expression of the poet’s desire to fuse with his friend, Edward Thomas. By uniting with Edward, Frost could stem the primitive rage which he had inherited from his father and the poet would try to control his fury evoked by separation. On top of that, it is well-known that years before Robert frost wrote the poem, he had a strange experience involving a crossroad where he saw a man just like himself approaching and almost uniting with him, who then passed by. This experience stayed with him as he uses this imagery in the poem. I think, the man he saw in his vision could be his ‘poetic self’ resolved to take the unconventional approach to life or his ‘mischievous self’ poking fun at his friend, Edward Thomas, for his compulsive indecisiveness. At the psychoanalytic level, the poem can also reveal the poet’ conflict between heterosexual and homosexual object choices. And, yes, like many creative personalities, Robert Frost also craved for secret sharers or doubles like his wife Elinor and later Kay Morrison to excite and facilitate his creativity. I think the poem is closely bound up with the poet.

  2. One of my favorite poems. The feeling of place and setting as well as the final line that poses the existential question about which road was actually taken is amazing.

  3. Rose says:

    My favorite poem,, I just love this,,,,,

  4. I discovered your website web site on the search engines and appearance a number of your early posts. Always keep the good operate. I extra increase Rss to my MSN News Reader. Seeking toward reading a lot more on your part down the line!…

Leave a Reply

