Katherine Mansfield – Camomile Tea

Outside the sky is light with stars;
There’s a hollow roaring from the sea.
And, alas! for the little almond flowers,
The wind is shaking the almond tree.

How little I thought, a year ago,
In the horrible cottage upon the Lee
That he and I should be sitting so
And sipping a cup of camomile tea.

Light as feathers the witches fly,
The horn of the moon is plain to see;
By a firefly under a jonquil flower
A goblin toasts a bumble-bee.

We might be fifty, we might be five,
So snug, so compact, so wise are we!
Under the kitchen-table leg
My knee is pressing against his knee.

Our shutters are shut, the fire is low,
The tap is dripping peacefully;
The saucepan shadows on the wall
Are black and round and plain to see.

33 Responses to Katherine Mansfield – Camomile Tea

  1. Barbara Ybarra says:

    Interesting poem. Quite childlike, yet the one reference to the “horrible” cottage one year ago hints that magical times may only come to us as adults when we can put behind us those traumas that block out the real, the things plain to see. This is why I like the poems chosen for children. Very often there will be a tiny hints of banishing or ignoring the macabre by paying stark attention to the fascinating beauty right in front of our eyes. Good poetry always constructs concrete images with words that suggest much much more. Brava, Kahterine from New Zealand!

  2. Bob Birks says:

    A magic moment. No more, no less.

  3. This poem is certainly not my cup of tea!

    Ha!

    Thanks for sharing nonetheless,

    An Absurd Poet

  4. David W says:

    What a lovely poem. Very quirky and a little childish. The third stanza especially is wonderfully imaginative.

  5. Rhythm-wise, this poem is absolutely gorgeous.

    Visit my Poetry Blogspot

  6. soulfull writing 🙂

  7. Great poem, i really got the message you tried to pass. Thank you for sharing.

  8. Beautiful. The mundane made meaningful – surely what poetry and art in general should do?

  9. Marian says:

    Perfect!!!!
    U best autor!!!
    I love you!!!!
    I love poetry !!!

    Good Lucky!

  10. […] All, Mansfield, Katherine, New Zealand. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own […]

  11. tts says:

    tts…

    […]Katherine Mansfield – Camomile Tea « Poetry blog[…]…

  12. bookofpoem says:

    Book of Poem is a community of poets. Have you ever wondered what others
    may think of your poems, or if you need to learn to be a better Poet?
    If you have then this is the place for you. Register and publish your poems on http://www.bookofpoem.com and let the world read your poems. Enjoy the large database of poems and poet profiles.

    POEMS DAILY UPDATED

    PS: The site is in beta mode. Please let us know issues bugs and fixes.

  13. Pete Willhelm says:

    Thanks for the post. Somehow, Mansfield completely slipped my mind when I was creating my own site, love poems for her. I’ll be sure to remedy that in short order. I like this poem almost as much as I like drinking chamomile tea!

  14. They have hats all over the walls, and you can
    wear one while you’re there if you like.

  15. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m
    thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips for beginner blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  16. Water Pipe says:

    The true do it yourself technique is to surround the pipe with a cloth and wire it to a
    nearby stud or other object. Even if we didn’t understand why, we all knew that we had to “shut your windows. These materials can easily be connected to new sections of pipe.

  17. What’s up colleagues, nice post and nice urging commented here, I am truly enjoying by these.

  18. Tammi says:

    When someone writes an piece of writing he/she retains
    the image of a user in his/her brain that how a user can be aware of it.

    Therefore that’s why this article is amazing. Thanks!

  19. penomet says:

    Your style is really unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity,
    Guess I will just book mark this blog.

  20. What’s up to all, it’s truly a fastidious for me to go to see this site, it includes
    precious Information.

  21. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is
    really informative. I am going to watch out for brussels.
    I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your
    writing. Cheers!

  22. LovePoet says:

    Lovely poem. Thank you, this exactly what I needed today.

  23. I forgot to say, this is my favorite poem:

    TAKE, O take those lips away
    That so sweetly were forsworn,
    And those eyes, the break of day,
    Lights that do mislead the morn:
    But my kisses bring again,
    Bring again—
    Seals of love, but seal’d in vain,
    Seal’d in vain!

    Love Poems for Her

  24. Hello There. I discovered your weblog the use of msn. That is a very smartly written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your helpful information. Thanks for the post.
    I will certainly comeback.

  25. You really make it appear really easy together with your presentation however I find this topic to be really one thing that I think I might by no means understand.
    It kind of feels too complex and extremely extensive for me.

    I’m having a look ahead for your subsequent post, I’ll attempt to get the dangle of it!

  26. I’ll right away clutch your rss as I can not to find your
    email subscription link or e-newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Kindly allow me recognize so that
    I may subscribe. Thanks.

  27. Freedom Mentor

    Katherine Mansfield – Camomile Tea | Poetry blog

  28. Brandon Colker

    Katherine Mansfield – Camomile Tea | Poetry blog

  29. Suresh Babu Gaddam

    Katherine Mansfield – Camomile Tea | Poetry blog

  30. Freedom Mentor Reviews

    Katherine Mansfield – Camomile Tea | Poetry blog

  31. Pomysł, w dłuższej perspektywie czasu wydaje
    się być sensownym.

Leave a Reply

